Click for Academy of Management home page

Academy of Management

George R. Terry Book Award (2019)

The Academy of Management's George R. Terry Book Award is granted annually to the book judged to have made the most outstanding contribution to the global advancement of management knowledge during the last two years. Books that contribute to the advancement of management theory, conceptualization, research, or practice are eligible for this prestigious award.

The recipient of the 2019 award was announced and presented at the Academy of Management Presidential Address and Awards Ceremony at the 79th Annual Meeting of the Academy of Management in Boston, Mass., USA.

The award committee is pleased to announce the 2019 George R. Terry Book Award recipients:

Meltdown: Why Our Systems Fail and What We Can Do About It

Chris Clearfield and András Tilcsik



Congratulations to the finalists for this year's award:

Beyond the Champion Prediction Machines Judgment and Strategy The Craft of Creativity
Beyond the Champion: Institutionalizing Innovation Through People (Gina Colarelli O’Connor, Andrew C. Corbett and Lois S. Peters) Prediction Machines: The Simple Economics of Artificial Intelligence (Ajay K. Agrawal, Joshua Gans and Avi Goldfarb) Judgment and Strategy (Robin Holt) The Craft of Creativity (Matthew A. Cronin and Jeffrey Loewenstein)


Award Committee

Ann Langley, HEC Montreal (chair); Sharon Alvarez, University of Pittsburgh; Yves Doz, INSEAD; Paul Leonardi, University of California, Santa Barbara; and Michael G. Pratt, Boston College.

Academy of Management
Member Services
Academy of Management
Online Opportunities
Academy of Management